Making the most of the appliance.

I love my dishwasher.

But I don’t love it purely because it gets me out of doing the dishes.

We have a rule in our house that if it doesn’t go in the dishwasher we don’t own it. And I have recently taken it a whole new level.

Things that CAN go in the dishwasher, that aren’t dishes:

  • The potty. Washed properly first of course. But pop it in to get a good dose of heat happening for ultimate germ killing.
  • The toddler toilet seat.
  • The bin lids.
  • And my latest favourite, my Havaiana’s.

As mentioned here before, I have a love affair with Havainas. I have some for outside. Some for inside. In colours to match my entire wardrobe. Love Love Love.

Last night, I realised that I had worn them far too much, and they were looking kinda skanky… Hmm, wonder if they would melt in the dishwasher? NOPE! And they all sparkly and new now.

I do suggest, before chucking things willy-nilly into the dishwasher, that you do check their heat resistance, because I will admit, I have had a few things melt!

What have you thrown into the dishwasher that probably wasn’t intended to be there?

Leave a Reply

